Loading...

1-732-602-7795
request@stabilelawfirm.com

Mon - Sat 9.00 AM - 07.00 PM
Sunday Closed

New Jersey traffic tickets

English - Español
Language

Suspended License in New Jersey

What to do when stopped by the traffic police?

If you are pulled over and are aware of your license being suspended, do not share that information with the trooper or police officer. In most cases, drivers are unaware of their placement on the suspension list and are surprised to be informed that their license is suspended. The New Jersey traffic ticket lawyers at the Stabile Law Firm has such a high success rate of winning driving while suspended cases because we put the burden of proof on the State!

There are multiple reasons that could lead to the suspension of a license to operate a motor vehicle in New Jersey.

  • If you receive 12 or more points on your current driver record
  • Failure to appear in court or to pay fines
  • Failure to pay surcharges
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Failure to provide proof of insurance
  • Physical or mental disqualification
  • Drug or alcohol use while driving (DUI and DWI)
  • Reckless driving
  • Vehicle abandonment on a public highway
  • Failure to Pay Child Support
  • ault in a fatal accident

Driving While Suspended

The violation of Driving While Suspended is set forth at NJSA 39:3-40. This section states, "no person to whom a driver license has been refused or whose driver's license or reciprocity privilege has been suspended or revoked or who has been prohibited from obtaining a driver's license, shall personally operate a motor vehicle during the period of refusal suspension, revocation or prohibition." The statute also prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle whose registration has been revoked.

Penalties For Driving While Suspended (If you are convicted guilty)

Violation Suspension
For the first violation within a year
Within 6 months of restoration 90 days
Within 7–9 months 60 days
Within 10–12 months 45 days
For second or subsequent violations*
Within 6 months of restoration 180 days
Within 7–9 months 120 days
Within 10–12 months 90 days

*If you receive three license suspensions within a three-year period may lose your license for up to three years.

First offense is a fine on the amount of $500. In addition to that, the defendant is charged a surcharge of $250/year for 3 years.

Second offence holds a fine of $750 and jail time for up to 5 days.

Third offence means a $1000 fine plus jail time for 10 days. If the vehicle was in violation and involved in an accident resulting in personal injury, jail time will be at least 45 days.

If an individual violates this section while under suspension issued pursuant to 39:4-50, driving under the influence of liquor or drugs (DUI and DWI) and is convicted, they shall be fined $500.00 extra and have their license suspended for an additional period not less than one year or more than two years and may be in the county jail for not more than 90 days. The defendant will also be surcharged a mandatory $250.00 per year for 3 years.

There are two types of license suspension:

  1. Court imposed suspension
  2. Administrative / Division of Motor Vehicles suspension

A suspended license can be the result from failure to appear in a New Jersey Municipal or County Court, failure to pay a fine after pleading or as a result of a Court order. Also, a suspended license can be the result of New Jersey Motor Vehicle administrative action like an accumulation of too many motor vehicle points or tickets, nonpayment of surcharges or even failure to pay child support.

Stabile Law Firm, LLC

900 Route 9 North, Suite 214
Woodbridge,NJ 07095
USA
Phone: +1-732-602-7795
Email: request@stabilelawfirm.com
Fax: +1-732-602-7796

If you have any query for related tickets ... We are available

Contact us